Probably Only Important to Me

Meeting Gary Vaynerchuk IS as AWESOME as you think.

Reading all the other blogs and tweets about people meeting Gary V only made my anticipation that much more. It was one of my SXSW goals- I only started following/watching him mid/late last year but I totally vibe with his style and message.

So, I was waiting for the elevator at the Hilton Austin to get to the 4th floor to go to a panel and all the sudden I saw a very familiar figure with green beanie strutting into my view. As I stared for a brief second the persons smile grew bigger and then I realized “holy shit, it’s Gary V.” Immediately he came up to me and we greeted each other. The aura of openness and friendliness was awesome, like an old friend. We spoke briefly in the elevator. I asked him to sign my Gary Vaynerchuk “Internet All Stars” Card (which I’ve carrying around with a Sharpie since yesterday for just such a “run in” occasion). I gave him a JESS3 poster and then he was off. I don’t know, it was probably the best “meeting a mentor” experience I’ve had, probably, the best first impression of meeting anyone, ever- no joke.

Then, minutes later, I got a DM on twitter from Gary following up and telling me he thought the poster was “BOMB.”

Sick.

I sort of feel like a giggly little girl in the 90s meeting N*SYNC or the Backstreet Boys writing about this- but seriously, it was epically legit.

BTW, here’s the poster.

jess3_skwak_17x11bis

Standard

Leave a Reply

